Colour correction

To file under “Steps you never realized were part of publishing a book”:

I received in the mail today a print sample from the moth guide’s publisher. It’s of three species of moth, each printed two ways: one using the original CMYK files, and the other with a bit of colour-correction applied. My opinion was requested on which version was better and/or truer to life. Naturally, being me and unable to offer an opinion without fully explaining my thought process or justification, I couldn’t just say “the original” or “the corrected ones”. Instead I wrote a few hundred words saying “this, in this situation, but otherwise this.” Hopefully they know what to do with that… ;)

Leave a Reply

