Can’t blog. Falling in love.

NANO2

These badges were created by Sommer Leigh, one of the moderators on the Nathan Bransford forums that I frequent, for the free use of forum users. I think the idea is you can use them as a placeholder while you’re going crazy through the month of November, trying to meet your daily word count goals for NaNo. Being freelance, I don’t have the same sort of time crunch that a lot of people have, so it hasn’t been a concern of mine… but I do like the idea of these badges, so I thought I’d use them anyway. :)

I think this top one is intended for people writing romances. Mine will have a romance thread, but it’s not a romance. It’s kinda more… thriller, I guess? Sci-fi thriller? That’s my best guess at classification, anyway. I’ll have to see what my beta readers say when I finally get to that point (a few months from now, after some early revisions). But I liked this badge because it could easily be applied to the author’s opinion of their novel: the more time you spend with it, the more you come to love it. (At least, that’s the way it should be.) And so I’m finding. I left my secondary character halfway through an action scene when I went down to make dinner today, and couldn’t get it out of my head.

I’m making good progress: at the end of day three I’m at 8,214 words – 10,214 when you include the bit I’d already written before NaNo started (It was just over 2,000 words, but I’m rounding down for ease of calculation). The NaNo target for day three is 5,000 words and my own was 6,000, so hopefully I can keep up this progress. Having the outline has been invaluable. My process so far: I’ll read over the last page or two of my previous day’s work, read what I’ve got put down as coming next in the outline, then take the dogs for a walk while I mull over how I think the next scene(s) should go. When I get in, I use the next two or three hours before dinner to write out the scenes I brainstormed. This has been great; the writing’s just flowed as soon as I sat down at the computer, so in a couple of hours I can have 2,500 words written.

NaNo says I’m averaging 2,738 words per day. If I’m somehow able to maintain that pace (not a guarantee by any means), I’ll have 82,000 words by the end of the month; well ahead of my 6-week target. And three times faster than I typically write a novel.

I fear this could turn me into a plotter…

NaNo1

Leave a Reply

