Catching up post-holidays

I haven’t done much with my writing since finishing up Resident 619; mostly my mind’s been on the holidays and the other tasks I need to get done. I’ve been turning Magestone over in the back of my head for a bit, letting my subconscious mull over it before I get back to editing. I’m looking forward to returning to that, to diving back into Rya’s world. And then sending it out once I’m done.

But mostly the holidays have been a writing break. A couple of new novel ideas have suggested themselves, but none very well-formed yet so I can, for the most part, ignore them while I try to focus on other responsibilities. I’ve done a bit of reading, including finishing Crossed by Ally Condie (which I enjoyed, but thought Matched was better; I found myself losing interest in the characters in this one for some reason), and making it halfway through A Clash of Kings (book #2 of the Game of Thrones series; halfway through one of these tomes is the same as all the way through a normal novel). I didn’t get any books for Christmas, but I’ve been hoarding a couple from last year… suppose I should let myself actually read them, rather than just enjoy the anticipation of reading them while they sit on the shelf. I’m also expecting Clockwork Prince in at the library soon, which I’m pretty excited about given the reviews I’ve been hearing about it.

Speaking of reading, I’ve decided to participate in a reading challenge a critique partner of mine is hosting: fantasy and sci-fi (any audience, not just YA). I’ve signed up for the Elf (10-book) level for fantasy and Hacker (5-book) level for sci-fi (and as per her challenge names meme, that makes me Arwen Salander). I know, not all that ambitious. But I do a lot of reading outside these two genres, too, so want to leave myself some room.

Leave a comment