Done!

I finished my last pass of revisions on Magestone last night, formatted the manuscript for submission, and closed the file. Next step: sending it to agents! Well, query first, then manuscript if/when it’s requested; let’s not get ahead of ourselves. But you know what I mean.

It’s a great feeling to be done with it. Is it perfect? No, I’m sure it’s not. But I’m happy with how it stands, and anything I’d be doing from this point would be nit-picky fiddling. It’s unlikely any changes I’d make after this point would affect an agent’s decision, so I’m not going to spend time fussing on it; I’ve got many other things I’m looking forward to turning my attention to. Besides, this won’t be the last time it gets revised; quite often the agents, and most definitely the editors, are going to have suggestions to make themselves. (But I’m getting ahead of myself again; first I need to send it off before someone can take interest in it!)

That’s kept me wrapped up the last couple of weeks. Now I’ll be picking up some other projects I laid aside for that time: I’ve got a couple of critiques I owe to partners; I’ve got 619 waiting patiently for me to return to it; and I’ve got a Shiny New Idea I’ve been working on fleshing out that I’d like to start writing (perhaps not quite at the NaNo pace of 619, though).

Not to mention the books collecting on my TBR pile! I’ve got three on my shelf that I’ve been itching to read; I’d been using my normal reading windows to work on revising Magestone, but now I can return to my regular routine. :)

2 responses to “Done!

  1. What a great feeling to finally reach a point where you’re ready to query and move on to other projects–congrats! I like your approach to nitpicking, too. I never really thought about it, but you do reach a point where any changes you make wouldn’t necessarily alter an agent’s opinion. Very true.

    Good luck!

    • Thanks, Tricia! I know a lot of people can be very perfectionist with their work and want to make sure it’s just right, but I’ve never gotten that way. Once it gets to be good enough, the return isn’t enough to balance out the time spent to make it perfect. I’m like that with my art, too. I can live with imperfections, I’d rather get started on something new.

Leave a Reply

