Lucky 7 Meme

I got tagged by my CP partner, Maggie, on this fun writing-themed meme. Very appropriate for the blog, and an excuse to share some snippets from my current WIP, Secrets. Of course, they’re maybe not the excerpts I would’ve chosen if I’d been specifically looking for one, but that’s okay.

The rules:
1. Go to page 77 of your current MS
2. Go to line 7
3. Copy down the next seven lines as they’re written–no cheating!
4. Tag 7 other writers
5. Let them know

I tag: Charlee, Caitlin, Heather, and Tricia. And anyone else who wants to participate. :)

I had the same problem with this that I always do when trying to determine how much to send when someone asks for "the first five pages". I set up the document differently as I’m writing (so it fairly closely approximates actual printed-book format/paging) than for submissions (which is all full-page, double-spaced, etc). So I thought I’d do two excerpts. The lines are longer/wider on a submissions-formatted MS so you get more excerpt on that one. ;)

This first one is from the MS as it’s formatted while I’m writing:

I thought I’d lost the connection. Then he said, “I didn’t send any text like that.” His voice was level, serious.

I hesitated. The irritation was roiling inside me by now, but I was thrown by his response. “What do you mean you didn’t send it? Of course you did, who else would it have been?”

“It wasn’t me,” he repeated. “Last message I sent was

And this one is taken from the MS in submissions format:

singing. “That’s a Rose-breasted Grosbeak. Hear him singing?”

“A grosbeak, huh?” Drew said, and to my surprise pulled a pair of binoculars from under his arm. He was wearing them cross-ways, just like I was, and somehow I’d missed them. They were obviously an inexpensive pair from Canadian Tire, and brand new – the neck strap still had kinks in it from being folded in the box. I felt another thrill of delight as I realized he must have bought them this week specifically for coming out with me today. “I can hear him, but can’t see him.”

“Just a sec.” I pulled out my cell and opened my birding app, scrolling through till I found the

4 responses to “Lucky 7 Meme

  1. Ahhh awesome! I’m assuming this is from Secrets, since I know I haven’t read these!

  2. Pingback: Lucky 7 Meme «

  3. Ohh! Thanks! I’ll have to fire up a blog and play along!

Leave a Reply

