Novel number six

After receiving some last feedback from CPs last week I made some final adjustments to Secrets this weekend… and set it aside. I won’t likely fiddle with it again unless I get a revision request from an agent asking me to. It’s such a satisfying moment for me, signing off on a manuscript. I feel happy with how the novel stands. Is it perfect? No, of course not. But I’m not, and never have been, a perfectionist. I get the project to a point where I’m happy with it and then I move on. Life’s too short to spend time tweaking details unnecessarily. (Also, there are always ideas waiting in the wings to be written.)

I’ve started querying Secrets, and I’ve launched into my next novel. Its working title is Stars at Midnight, though I haven’t decided whether to call it Stars or Midnight for short here (I normally go with the noun, but they’re both nouns!). It’s a project that’s been floating around the back of my mind for six months now, pretty much since I completed my first-and-a-half draft of Secrets and sent it off to my alpha reader/CPs. For one reason and another I didn’t actually start writing it till last week, but it’s already coming along nicely. I just passed 10k this evening, which means I’m probably 1/8th done… :)

This will be novel number six (or six and a half if you count the aborted partial). And gosh, I’ve come a long way since that first novel. Funny to look back on it now. I felt so confident at the time, but in retrospect I had so much to learn. I know I still have lots to learn, but I like to think I’ve made pretty good progress. :)

One response to “Novel number six

  1. Woo! Six books. that’s quite an accomplishment.

Leave a Reply

