Checking in

It just occurred to me it’s been a couple weeks since I posted. I’ve remained fairly active on Twitter, but haven’t had the brain space for blogging just recently. Mostly because I’ve been hard at work on the latest WIP, Stars. I’ve been writing at a NaNo pace, even though I’m not officially doing NaNo. I’ve written about 38,000 words since the start of November; the manuscript is just shy of 80,000 words and nearing the end. I’m hoping it’ll wrap up at not much more than 90k, but I’m never completely certain until I type "The End".

While I’m drafting I have a tendency to become completely absorbed by the story and only have enough attention left over to take care of really important or pressing matters. If it’s something that can wait, it usually does. This includes the blog. This is also when I tend to get the most complaints about laundry deficits and other things around the house. I’ll get back to normal once I’m done drafting. Fortunately, I’m not alone in this habit; I see many writers in my Twitter stream mentioning similar writing tendencies. (Q: "How do you balance it all with writing?" A: "I don’t.")

The good news is that I’m really pleased with how the story’s coming along. I figure I’ve got one more week of drafting left. Then I plan to do a full non-stop read-through, no editing, and then set it aside for a week or two while I roll it around in my brain for a bit. I find usually the weak or problem areas become apparent to me then as a gut feeling of uncertainty, and I’m slowly starting to recognize that feeling as meaning the component needs reworking or cutting. Then a week or so to address that stuff and tidy the rest up, and then it’s off to my first readers by Christmas. :)

2 responses to “Checking in

  1. That incubation phase seems pretty important. If I remember correctly, it was Franz Kafka who said he wished he could wait a year or more between drafts if he had the time. I doubt most of us would be that patient though!

    • Ha. Hadn’t heard that Franz Kafka comment. Yeah, I’ve found that waiting between drafts makes a *huge* difference. Fortunately, this sort of happens by default when sending the manuscript off to critique partners/beta readers, because they usually need at least a couple weeks to read it and write up their comments.

Leave a Reply

