New Year’s reflections

Happy New Year to everyone!

In following with cultural tradition I thought I’d take a moment to review the year past and set goals for the year to come.

2011 was a really rough year for me, so the bar was set pretty low for 2012 – it didn’t need to bring much in order for things to go better. I christened it my year of transition, working from a shitty previous year to what I hope will be a stellar following year. And on the whole I’d say it lived up to that.

Things accomplished in 2012:

  • Finished revising and queried novel #3, Magestone (sent out several dozen queries but didn’t garner much interest; now retired)
  • (Novel #4, written late in 2011, remains in stasis mode)
  • Drafted, revised and began querying novel #5, Secrets (definitely had more interest on it; the full is currently out with some agents)
  • Drafted and began revisions on novel #6, Stars (and the feedback I’ve received so far from my alphas has been really encouraging)
  • Reached out to half a dozen potential new critique partners; some worked out, others didn’t.
  • Completed five full critiques and four partials for new or existing CPs
  • Picked up a part-time job to help support this writing habit of mine

I feel like I made a lot of forward progress last year. The two new novels, Secrets and Stars, have both shown clear improvement from previous efforts, and have received much more enthusiastic reviews from my readers – Secrets more than Magestone, and Stars more than Secrets. So I’m not only encouraged by the trend, but also hopeful for what may come of them this year.

I’m not a resolution-maker, as even my small resolutions I never seem able to maintain, but I’m pretty good at working toward and achieving goals. My main goal last year was to improve my writing and begin querying. I would’ve loved to have found an agent (isn’t that high on the list of any aspiring author?) but I don’t mind being patient.

This year I hope to:

  • Finish revisions for Stars and begin querying it
  • Sign with an agent (sorta out of my control, except to continue querying and entering contests)
  • Sell a novel/series! (very out of my control, but a girl can dream)
  • Draft two more novels (either two completely new series, if I’m still seeking representation, or – dare I hope? – the sequel to a previous novel if I sell something)
  • Finish revisions on at least one of these new stories, if not both
  • Continue critiquing for my writing friends/partners and try to be a lot more prompt with everyone than I sometimes have been
  • Read lots! I read an average of a book a week last year, if I include the unpublished manuscripts; I’d like to continue that trend
  • Catch up on my TBR pile a bit; I have books I got or borrowed a couple years ago I still haven’t gotten to

If 2012 was my Year of Transition, I plan for 2013 to be my Year of Happening. With the progress I made last year I feel I’m on the cusp of good things, and 13 is my lucky number, so seems likely, don’t you think?

4 responses to “New Year’s reflections

  1. Huh, I also told my husband that my one new year’s “resolution” was to get an agent, but, of course, we’ll see. It sounds like you’re really well on your way, so you might have more luck (read perseverance and improved writing skill) than I this year, but I’ll keep plugging along. Good luck to you!

    • You never know, Sarah! All it takes is one agent to fall in love with your work, and they could be the next one you query. Keep writing and keep querying and it’ll happen, sooner or later. :)

  2. Funny, I also feel that 2013 is going to be my year of “happening”. I graduated from university at the end of 2011; 2012 was mostly about transitioning away from that and into writing. This year, I want to write more, focus more on revising and finishing pieces of writing, and hopefully get something published at some point!

    Good luck with your goals! I look forward to seeing how they work out for you!

    • Good luck, Heather! It can be tough getting momentum going but sounds like you’ve got a good start on it already. Hope you’re able to make all your goals for the year!

Leave a Reply

