The Next Big Thing blog hop

Last week I was tagged by my critique partner Charlee Vale to participate in the latest blog hop/meme I’ve seen going around. It’s called the Next Big Thing and writers share some details about their works in progress. Charlee’s post is here, about her novel Bet Her Life (which I got to read to critique, and which is amazing).

I’m not aware of a central list of participants, which is too bad, because think how fun it would be browsing through all the different books! I bet you could find some great potential critique partners that way.

Here are my answers as part of the Week 32 installment. I’ve re-ordered the questions into something that makes more logical sense.

1. What is the working title of your book?
Stars at Midnight

5. What is the one-sentence synopsis of your book?
Seventeen-year-old Talon has grown up in the New York Assassin’s Guild dreaming of one day becoming guildmaster, proud of the work she does helping control the city’s abundant crime, but when she’s inducted into the guild’s elite she sees a very different side of the guild that makes her question what defines “right”.

3. What genre does your book fall under?
Good question. YA light sci-fi, I guess, because it’s in the future, but a very modern-world style society. And it’s set after a plague (to make some of the story aspects work, though the plague doesn’t actually play a big role here), so technically also post-apocalyptic. With hints of dystopian. But I wouldn’t say it falls neatly into any one category.

8. What other books would you compare this story to within your genre?
Another good question. My critique partner Maggie Hall said it reads with the intensity and flavour of books like Divergent or Legend, but it’s not really like either of those in plot so much. There are other assassin books that have been recently released, but aside from that obvious connection they don’t bear much similarity (at least the ones I’ve read). Maggie suggested it was probably most similar to the TV show Nikita, which I haven’t watched yet.

7. How long did it take you to write the first draft of your manuscript?
Two months, roughly 12k a week, which has been my average for my last three novels.

2. Where did the idea come from for the book?
I’ve been a big fan of the Assassin’s Creed video game series since the first one came out. I’m also drawn to the badassity of superheroes and super fighters in movies. But the real moment of genesis was reading something posted on the web by another unpublished writer – I can’t even recall what it was, now – where he said his story was titled Born To Kill. His wasn’t about assassins, but as I was in the middle of one of the Assassin’s Creed games at the time I had this flash of an idea for a story about teens raised in a modern-world assassin’s guild.

9. Who or what inspired you to write this book?
Isn’t this kinda the same question as above? From a thematic point of view, I suppose, I wanted to spend some time with the people behind the assassins’ masks. Assassins are such a popular trade in fantasy, but what kind of person do you have to be to make a living from killing other people? In the Assassin’s Creed video games, for instance, the main character kills guards left, right and center, though they’re not really the antagonists themselves, they’re just doing their jobs – so what is he thinking as he does this?

4. Which actors would you choose to play your characters in a movie rendition?
I’m really terrible with actors; I know the big names and that’s about it, so I couldn’t really cast my book very well. But when I’m in the early stages of drafting a story I usually browse a google image search and pick out photos for my main characters. These were the two I selected for my female and male leads. I have no idea who they’re actually of.

Talon    Sherohin1

6. Will your book be self-published or represented by an agency?
My goal is to find representation with an agency. I don’t have the self-promotion skills to be able to pull off self-publishing (nor the desire to invest all that time in it). If I can’t find a home for this book with an agency I’ll just keep writing new ones and keep querying till one of them does. :)

10. What else about your book might pique the reader’s interest?
This is my sixth novel written, but it’s the first one I’ve written in dual points-of-view. It’s also the first one to make any of my readers cry. (In empathy, not from bad writing ;) .)

Tagged:
I’m going to tag all my critique partners/readers (the ones with blogs, anyway)… I think Charlee’s the only one who’s done this so far! If they want to join in next Wednesday, great! I’d love for everyone to get to read more about their novels. :) And if not, well, swing by their blogs anyway. :)
Maggie, Heather, Caitlin, Sarah, CB Soulsby

Rules:
Answer these ten questions about your current WIP on  your blog.
Tag (up to) five other writers/bloggers with their links so we can hop over and meet them.

5 responses to “The Next Big Thing blog hop

  1. Ooo. I can’t wait to read it!

    I’ve been tagged. I guess this a sign I should start blogging again.

  2. Thanks, Seabrooke. This is really cool.
    I am loving your male MC’s curls, and a modern world assassin’s guild does sound pretty damn cool.

  3. BTW, I’ve been taking a look at some of those CP posts, so thanks for that too!

    • I hope you make some good connections, Sarah – it’s so great to have CPs you can trust and enjoy emailing with. Makes this writing journey a lot less lonely! Plus it’s just useful to have a number of opinions. :)

Leave a Reply

