And the winner is….

Oh my gosh, I have been ITCHING to share this news – and now I can! I have officially signed with an agent! I am so excited to announce I am now represented by the wonderful Rachael Dugas of Talcott Notch Literary Services! (And if all those exclamation points aren’t an indication of my level of enthusiasm, I don’t know what would be.)

Rachael actually found me by way of Cupid Literary Connection’s Blind Speed Dating Contest (remember my entry there for Stars at Midnight, back in February?) I got three requests on my entry, one of which was from Gina Panettieri of Talcott Notch. Gina really enjoyed my manuscript and passed it on to Rachael, who also loved it, and offered representation. After talking with Rachael on the phone I knew she was just what I was hoping to find in an agent. I think she’ll be a great partner for me and my stories!

The funny thing is: I would never have queried either Gina or Rachael just on my own. I wouldn’t’ve thought they’d be likely to be interested, just based on their bios on their website. Which just goes to show… well, two things. First, reading is so subjective, and it’s REALLY hard to sum up what appeals to you in a few sentences (and even then, you’ll still like stuff outside of it). It’s worth querying even people who seem to have only a loose interest in your genre. And two, contests work! I’m such a believer in query/pitch contests now. Unsurprisingly. :)

I’m going to close with some stats, because I always liked reading those when I was querying and reading announcements from newly-agented writers.

Manuscripts written, including Stars: 6
Manuscripts queried, including Stars: 3
Total queries sent for all MSs: 89
Total requests/queries: Magestone– 3/65; Secrets– 3/18; Stars– 4/6
Total contests entered: Secrets– 3; Stars– 2
Total requests from contests: Secrets– 3; Stars– 7

10 responses to “And the winner is….

  1. Congratulations!!!!!!!!!
    (Seriously, I don’t think one can use enough exclamation points in cases like this).

  2. YAY! I’m so glad you got to announce it!!

  3. WOWWWWWWWW massive congratulations!!

  4. Woohooooooo!!!! So, so happy!! (And again, told you so! :) I knew Stars would get an agent immediately!) <3

  5. Congrats!!!!! :) that’s awesome! I only just happened on this now.

Leave a Reply

